Out on a Limb

Sometimes making a public declaration has helped me face a difficult task.  Getting my studio habit restarted has proved to be difficult for many reasons, one of which has been lack of enthusiasm for a concept. I’ve played a bit with color and while I love abstraction I still want to work with imagery.  I finished the binding and sleeve for a piece entitled “Portal” that I made well over a year ago and pinned it to the design wall. In studying it I got thinking about another piece “Doorway to the Future” that I made for the Mercy Education Foundation.  Both featured doorways.

Portal 72 dpiDoorway to the Future 72 dpi

Over the years I taken a lot of photos of doors, doorways and passages.  They interest me for many reasons.  A door can mean many things including entry, new beginning, mystery, opportunity.  It can be open, closed, locked. One series of photos that kept coming back to me was a blue door in Cotacachi Ecuador. I love the aged and worn appearance, the soft blue of the door and the contrast of the old nails and lock. So I will use this door as the subject of the next piece I start.  There are so many directions I can take with the composition.

DSCN2800 DSCN2801 DSCN2802Tomorrow starts a new year for me and I am determined to begin digging myself out of this hole. So I commit to work on this idea and to post my progress. I will try to post weekly to keep accountable to myself.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Out on a Limb

  1. Deborah Bright

    Love hearing from you, Kathy! Stay strong! You are very talented.

  2. clairan

    A beautiful photo and a fitting project. Good luck.

  3. What clairan said. Happy New Year to you! Hugs!