Baby Steps

I am finally spending a little time in the studio, sewing strips together then cutting them up and recombining.  Free-piecing, so to speak. Its therapeutic.  I am working from my scrap boxes.  I don’t feel like cutting into yardage and it feels right to be working with the leftovers from other endeavors.

My choices tend toward darker shades.  Not surprising.  I will just continue. I have lots of scraps. This little piece represents my first baby steps back toward making art.

darkness 72 dip

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Baby Steps

  1. clairan

    Very autumnal. Nice

  2. marginmirror

    Definitely autumnal — woods and water. 🙂 Hugs!

  3. deb

    It might be dark, but it also glows.

  4. Glad it’s working for you, Kathie. As always, you have made a beautiful piece. It fits both your mood and the season. sending a hug.
    R.

  5. Hi, Kathie-

    i just read about your husband and feel so sorry. I was just in Wisconsin, visiting my parents and my father has many health issues, including severe sleep apnia. He said that this might be the last time we see each other and I pooh-poohed him, but while I was there he would fall asleep and quit breathing. I’ve been so sad and know that he was right. We just don’t know when our beloved people will be gone….. Anyway, art does help and I hope that you use it as therapy, as solace. I feel for you!

  6. English quilter

    It is dark, yet there are glints of sunshine and glow coming through.

  7. Your piece is beautiful and reflective. Thank you for sharing. I was reviewing my blog contacts, and just happened to click on yours and found this posting, and read about your husband. My condolences on your loss. Cherish your memories. Your quilting is a beautiful expression. You remind me of holding dear to each moment with those we love and are still will us.Thank you.

Leave a Reply

