What Happened to February?

Its the shortest month of the year but around here it often feels like the longest month.  Cold, snow, colder, more snow.  This year the weather was terrible, like most of the eastern half of the US but my month flew by.

Circumstances limited my studio time but I concentrated on two pieces with imminent deadlines

Golden Marsh 34" x 34"

Golden Marsh 34″ x 34″

Golden Marsh is my entry for a Michigan Regional SAQA exhibit “Michigan Memories”.  Work needed to be created specifically for the show and while I was tempted to just create something white-on-white to memorialize this memorable winter I decided that spring is a happier memory so I returned to my marsh marigold series.  Working with the bright colors was a good antidote to the white & gray outside my window.

Jazz Flow 29" x 29"

Jazz Flow 29″ x 29″

Jazz Flow was a more challenging project.  Its for “Got Jazz?” an upcoming traveling exhibition of the Fiber Artists Coalition.  I wanted to create something that represents what I hear in the music without using any literal imagery.  I started this last year and various parts lived on my design wall for a while before I figured out how I wanted to make them come together.

I set Feb. 28 as my deadline (to give myself time to be done a bit ahead of the actual deadlines) and photographed them over the weekend.

My goal for March is to finish the samples for a workshop I’m teaching in April.  And to get back into blogging once a week or so.

3 Comments

Filed under abstract, free-piecing, nature inspired

3 responses to “What Happened to February?

  1. marginmirror

    I always enjoy seeing your woods — love how you do trees! And it seems to me there’s a touch of blues in that jazzy number. Wonderful! 🙂

  2. Jean Burke

    Hello – these quilts are just lovely. I’m intrigued by your group quilt you did a few years ago. It started with a picture of buoys. I’d like to do something like this with my group – but I’m not sure where to start. I couldn’t find your email address so I’m leaving this comment. I’d appreciate any suggestions for getting started. Thank you. jburkequilts@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

