New Year, New Work (finally)

Its hard to believe that it has been nearly three months since I have posted!  I admit to not spending much time in the studio lately.  In October and November I was busy dyeing scarves and socks for the holiday art markets and a couple of the local art centers.

Medium Socks 1 Rayon 4
The rayon scarves sold pretty well.  The silk scarves and bamboo socks did not do as well.  I dyed additional socks as gifts and the recipients love them.  They are soft and comfy.  I am wearing a pair right now so I don’t mind having leftovers.

Right after Thanksgiving I hung an all media art show at the Charlevoix Circle of Arts.   The featured exhibit is a collection from the Fiber Artists Coalition,  “Milagros”.

FAC letteringAnd then December was the usual blur.  However in December I was able to begin a new piece for Loose Threads’ annual show at the Charlevoix Library.  We have an architectural theme this year and members have been asked to create works based on the following concepts:  passageways, roof lines, steps, and windows.  The pieces are to be 12″ x 12″ 18″ x 18″, or 12″ x 18″ (either orientation).

This morning I finished stitching my passageways piece:

Portal 72 dpi

Portal 18″ x 18″

Finishing a new piece is a good way to start the new year and hopefully I will get back into my rhythm.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Year, New Work (finally)

  1. marginmirror

    Happy New Year, dear friend! I got a couple pair of those socks…may save a white pair for jogging. 🙂 Your “Portal” is wonderful…an entrance into the adventures ahead of you this year…May you be happy, creative, healthy and blessed!

Leave a Reply

