Still Life with Apples

I decided to participate in a challenge to create a piece focused on negative space.  I had done negative space drawing exercises but not in a long time so I got out my sketchbook and set a chair in front of my design board and drew what wasn’t the chair.    The first attempt was pretty funny, the next a little better, but I decided I didn’t want to do a piece based on a chair so I looked around for a likely candidate and spotted some paper-whites stuck in a vase with milkweed pods.  I set up the paper-whites in front of the design board and repeated the exercise.  The paper whites fell over after I drew them and I couldn’t get them right to photograph, but you get the idea.

DSCN0481paperwhite drawing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I constructed a background that I liked well enough but none of the fabrics I auditioned worked for the paper-whites and I wasn’t sure it was a particularly good attempt of focus on negative space.  Solid was dead and anything else was too busy.

DSCN0477

But out walking with my dog, Annie, I noticed the abundance of apples on the roadside trees.  Apples!  Complementary colors.  And many apples are red and green so  I let the background be the green.

Still Life with Apples 14" x 24"

Still Life with Apples 14″ x 24″

Actually it was a lot of fun.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Still Life with Apples

  1. Bonnie

    Just beautiful…

  2. deb

    Funny how one thing leads to another….have to accept this as part of the process. Very lovely outcome!

Leave a Reply

