The Lavender Project

Lavender Hills Farm just outside of Boyne City MI invited me to participate in an artist event later this month.  Artists will be in the gardens demonstrating their art and selling small works.  Easy for painters but more of a challenge for a fiber artist.  I am thrilled that I was invited  but I will need to most of my creating before the event.  I will save one piece to finish with beads or hand embroidery but the others will be finished before the big day.

So this morning I went out to the farm to take some photos.   There were plenty of scenes I wanted to capture.  Here’s a few:

DSCN0335  DSCN0337 DSCN0336

Field with turquoise house

This is the first one I decided to depict:

DSCN0332

I decided that I would make all my compositions 11″ x 14″ and order mats for them.  Rather than crop  the image exactly and try to trace the the photo I wanted to go with the feel.  First the background was pieced and quilted:

Lavender closeup stage 1 for blogNext I fused strips for the stalks and stitched them as well:

Lavender closeup stage 2 for blog

I think I want to keep it more open than the photo.  I can always add more green if I need to.  Tonight I get to think about shapes to use for the flowers.  This is FUN.

3 Comments

Filed under abstract, free-piecing, nature inspired

3 responses to “The Lavender Project

  1. clairan

    What a nice opportunity and a lovely place. lavendar is my absolute favorite — my family will tell you I’m a little nuts about it.

  2. 1. So lovely to read that you are having fun with this; and
    2. I knew you’d find an interesting tree… 😉

    Looking forward to hearing how this goes!

Leave a Reply

