Winter Orchard – Part One

I need a winter themed piece for a local show.  I’m entering a older piece “Winter Apples” which I think is from 2006

which was based on a photo I took of an old apple tree near our driveway:

So I thought it might be fun to revisit the theme–but instead of one tree, an orchard.  For the past few days I’ve been piecing a background to look cold & wintery:

And then I took my original sketch from 2006 and updated it.  I’m going to populate the orchard with the same tree shape but in 3 sizes.

sketch 2012

sketch 2006

3 Comments

Filed under nature inspired, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Winter Orchard – Part One

  1. Janie

    Kathy, that is such a wonderful warm winter picture. I would love it hanging in my place!
    Janie

  2. marginmirror

    Kathie, I like the background — without much added to it. I’m hoping you get really subtle with this piece…using stitch; tone-on-tone…just a hint of contrast…playing up the ‘winter’ and playing down the ‘orchard’…Does that make sense?

    • kathiebriggs

      Thanks Margaret. I can see what you mean about using stitch for more winter but I won’t be using stitch for the trees at least on this particular piece. I don’t hand stitch and while I will do some thread painting I don’ t see that for the orchard. Its a medium size piece (about 27″ x 30″ right now) but I can see trying to do something along that line on a smaller piece. In fact I plan on experimenting with your suggestion but on a smaller scale where the stitch will show up. I have saved the background fabric scraps and have plenty for a smaller study. BTW, my tree fabrics are very muted. I hope you like them and thanks for the suggestions.

Leave a Reply

