Connections…Complete…Finally

Connections 24 x 47

I can’t believe it took me over a month to make the final decisions on this piece and finish it up.  Talk about slow design.  Seems like every time I walked into the studio (and it was far too few times in the past few weeks) that I would rearrange some of the strips connecting the big blocks.  Nothing major but I just couldn’t seem to get it right.

In the meantime I dealt with “stuff” and deadlines but I kept this up on the design wall.  Then finally two weeks ago moved a few strips around and suddenly it looked right.  So I took a photo and looked at it in Photoshop.  I rotated it 90 degrees and I still liked it.  I rotated it another 90 degrees and it looked right.  And once more & I liked this one best.  So I was ready to fused down the final elements and finished the quilting.

Connections (rotated) 47 x 24

Since I had to reassemble it after the triptych experiment it was very heavy.  I have a brand new Viking Sapphire and what a big difference the 10″ extended sew surface made.  I usually mount my work on stretchers but this one was too heavy so I made a traditional binding and two sleeves so it could be hung either way.

Working with the challenge fabric and a different color palette was a challenge.  Working intuitively without a plan was a bigger challenge.  I would have liked to have completed the challenge in a more timely manner but I enjoyed the journey and I learned a lot by working on this piece.

4 Comments

Filed under abstract, free-piecing

4 responses to “Connections…Complete…Finally

  1. You are so right. Vertical is definitely best. Congratulations!

  2. It turned out just fine Kathie. The whole piece works. Slow design is – uh – s-l-o-w, but that’s the point. Intuitive gets you started and then the work starts. If you’re used to planning ahead, it’s a whole different ballgame but the process will get you there — and clearly, it did. The piece looks great!

  3. Hi Kathie,
    So good to see a post from you. I like the horizontal version, so it’s great that you applied two sleeves! Letting things ‘sit’ for a while is definitely a good idea. I am now inspired to get back to my ‘current’ piece…based on your determination!

    Hugs!

  4. I still love the idea that you gave it two sleeves! I love what you created and I’m so thankful that you participated. Judy would be so happy!

Leave a Reply

