What I Did With the Extra Red Squares

Square Dance 30" x 36"

Square Dance is quilted, finished, mounted and ready to be delivered to the show next weekend.  I didn’t use the extra red squares I made but three of them found their way into 自乗 (Squared in Japanese–according to the Google Translator).

自乗 22" x 32"

These are the black/red/white and the beige squares that I cut up and combined.  The background and border are kimono fabric I bought 12-15 years ago (for what I don’t remember).   Seemed to fit the look of the piece.  What is interesting is that the characters

自乗

and the blocks seem to resemble each other.

That’s five pieces stared and finished in January!   A record for me I think.  The first three are have been named Calliope, Lights on the Midway, and Fun House Mirror for the Winter Carnival show that opens tonight at the Charlevoix Circle of Arts and the two above will hang in Squared and Squared Again at the Jordan River Art Center.

3 Comments

Filed under abstract, free-piecing

3 responses to “What I Did With the Extra Red Squares

  1. marginmirror

    These two pieces are great, Kathie! The second is such an interesting juxtaposition of the formal (leaves) and the abstract — and it works. And yes, your observation about the letters and blocks is quite true. Don’t you love serendipity like that? 🙂

    Happy show opening! Will you be there? Wish I could be…

    And now I really must get offline and back into my studio!

  2. Very interesting to see what you’ve done with the blocks, quite creative!

Leave a Reply

