Square Dance: How Many Squares?

My first three new pieces of 2012 are finished and delivered to the art center for the “Winter Carnival” show.  It will be interesting if anyone comments on my change of direction.

Now I can concentrate on my pieces for the “Squared and Squared Again” challenge.  After looking at it on the design wall I decided that the red, purple & green were too balanced:

So I made more squares to give red the dominant role.   The background is quilted and the squares are sewn to it.   I will be doing minimal stitching onf the squares becaue of all the layers.  But now I have to decide if I like it this way:

Or with the little squares (pinned for now) and if I like the little squares are red and brown the most effective colors?  How much red is too much?  Would green and brown be a better combo?

What do you think?

3 Comments

Filed under abstract, free-piecing

3 responses to “Square Dance: How Many Squares?

  1. Hmmm…I think the last one is a bit over the top. A few too many squares (even if they’re small). My eye has nowhere to settle….

    Just a thought! Hugs!

  2. Layout one is much better than the second one, which is too chaotic. No contest, as far as I am concerned.

  3. Kathie

    Thanks Margaret & Rayna. Looking at it again this morning I agree too. Glad I just pinned them on. Will finish up the quilting and move on to something new.

Leave a Reply

