Pond

"Pond" 14" x 20"

This month I joined the “Fast Friday”  Challenge.  Each month, on the last Friday, a theme is announced.   Members make a fiber art piece to fit the theme.  The goal is to complete the piece within a week.  This month’s theme is Chiaroscuro, which refers to the use of strong contrast or unusual lighting to create a strong dramatic effect in art.

So the challenge was to:  Create a small art quilt using the strong contrasts of Chiaroscuro.   Depict light in some way – either a directional light source, a
glow or illumination.

I often paddle my kayak through a large bed of waterlilies at the north end of our lake.  Usually its late afternoon and the lilies just glow in the deep shade.  That’s what I was trying to achieve.  I’m just happy that I was able to get it done in the suggested time frame.

2 Comments

Filed under nature inspired, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pond

  1. “Usually its late afternoon and the lilies just glow in the deep shade. That’s what I was trying to achieve.”

    And by George, I think you got it! 🙂 Lovely — and you make it look so easy, Kathie!

  2. Pam Clark

    I think you have beautifully met the requirements of this challenge. It is very striking and masterfully done. Way to go!!

Leave a Reply

