Honorable Mention at Crooked Tree Fine Arts Show

Yesterday I received a phone call from the Crooked Tree Art Center in Petoskey Michigan.  One of my artworks accepted into the 30th juried Fine Arts show had been awarded Honorable Mention.    What a thrill for me.  It was the first time I had entered this show though I had displayed my artwork there in conjunction with SAQA‘s “Transformation” a few years ago.  (Three local SAQA artists were featured in a small exhibition in the foyer.)  I was planning on attending the opening so I didn’t ask which piece.  I had entered a brand new piece from my weed series “Cats in the Milkweed”

and since I could enter two works for the price of one, I entered “Cycles”.

Cycles "30 x 27" (irregular)

This piece was originally created in 2007 for an invitational show themed “Time”.   The prospectus prohibited the use of timepieces, calendars and the usual ways of showing the passage of time. The artists were to “think outside the box.”  It was shown again by the same group in a retrospective in 2008.  Then it  traveled to the Mascuso shows with “Fiber Force” curated by Lisa Chipentine and recently returned to me.  I thought, “Why not?”  Despite the trend at quilt shows to dismiss work made a few year ago as “old”, fine art shows don’t usually prescribe to these conventions.   And it won the first of three “Honorable Mention”   which is essentially 4th place behind two wonderful paintings and a very interesting mix-media assemblage.  The next two “Honorable Mentions” were awarded to a painting and a ceramic grouping.

Out of 62 pieces in the exhibit there were four fiber pieces.  The other two were wonderful weavings.   Another very good  mixed-media piece had fiber included but it was under glass and you wouldn’t take it for textile art.   The visual arts director didn’t mention the total number of entries, only that it was large and  because it is now digital that they had more out-of-area artists (it was a state-wide call).

My advice to textile artists–enter fine arts venues.  People like fiber art.

12 Comments

Filed under Exhibits, nature inspired, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Honorable Mention at Crooked Tree Fine Arts Show

  1. Congratulations, Kathie! It’s a great piece!

  2. Cynthia

    Well deserved. I truly enjoy your quilts and congratulate you on the recognition that you receive.

  3. How wonderful! I love your take on the passage of time.

  4. Sherry Boram

    That’s a beautiful piece, Kathie, and well deserves the honor. You are a trail blazer!!

  5. Congratulations! This is a very interesting piece. Friday, October 1, I am one of 2 fiber artists in a show and sale [for charity]. I am a little nervous about how my work will be viewed. Nice to know you have broken the ice. My cousin lived in your area for many, many years. Glad the arts are appreciated in that area. I remember a really nice gallery, but the name escapes me.

  6. Katie,
    I love trees – and I love how you have shown the viewer all the seasonal changes in the life of your tree. It is a very interesting composition.

  7. Kathie – what a wonderful piece and how exciting to have won an award! Well deserved. BTW – I remember the naming dilemma you had about the Cattails and Milkweed piece and I love the title you ended up with.

  8. deb

    Congratulations Kathie! Well deserved!

  9. Love the work, Kathie. I also applaud your thinking. Rosie

  10. congratulations Kathie, love your piece.
    met you at the first Fabrications workshop with Pamela Allen
    you were all so kind to a stranger from eastern Canada.

  11. Congrats for showing the ‘fine’ art venues what fiber art is about! And kudo’s for your award.
    I have to agree on the limitations of time that fiber art venues put on work. When you have a winner- it is a winner no matter how long ago you made it.
    I love the interaction of the different sections of the trees. Beautiful!

  12. I like that it celebrates the seasons, as shown by trees. Very in touch with the cycles of nature, and life. Well deserved honor, and I’m so glad a fine art venue recognized the quality of the piece! congrats.

Leave a Reply

