Photography Set-up

Its always been clumsy to try to photograph my work in the studio.  Along two sides are  knee-walls which are only about 5 feet high and they are lined with storage units and work-tables.  My “big” wall is all windows  and the other is my staircase.  I have three insulation panels covered with fleece and duct tape which fold up like a screen.  These are great for design but they  don’t stand perfectly straight.  But the biggest challenge was lighting.  Due to the configuration of the room the lighting was tricky and positioning  the design wall and the camera was a nightmare for all but the smallest pieces.

I searched the house for a suitable solution and found on in my den/computer/over-flow-guest room.  We have large closets with bi-fold doors that open wide.  My husband fasted hooks just inside the door frame.  An insulation board covered with white felt hangs on adjustable chains.  I even have some fishing line with a little hook for photographing my mounted pieces.  My husband also built four inexpensive light stands following the directions on Holly Knott’s wonderful “Shoot That Quilt” guide to photography.  The lights she recommends work wonderfully.

The den has enough room for me to position the lights and the tripod.  Once I do a bit of rearranging in the closet I will be able to store most of the equipment and the rest go under the bed.  It only takes a few minutes to set it up or put it away.  I am very happy with it.

2 Comments

Filed under Photography, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Photography Set-up

  1. deb

    Very nice setup!

  2. I’m so glad you found the Shoot That Quilt pages helpful. I love the shot of your setup here.

Leave a Reply

