Newton’s Law

Newton’s First Law of Motion states that “a body at rest will remain at rest unless an outside force acts on it.” Kathie’s corollary is that a body (or mind) on vacation remains on vacation unless an outside force acts on it.  Certainly true in my case.  For weeks after vacation I found every excuse to stay out of the studio.  And whenever I found myself there I was distracted by any small thing.  And this was not making me happy.

It wasn’t that I didn’t have anything to do.  I had plenty of pieces that had been left up on the design wall in various stages.  Maybe I had too many.  So I made a list, prioritized the list and got to work.

First up a photo interpretation for the Northern Michigan Textile Artists.  Our next exhibition will be themed to local foods, in the broadest sense.   Some of us decided to interpret a photo I took at a farm stand.

I had been fussing with it on and off for a few weeks.  The background squares were from my Focus on Fiber stash. But once I got going the second part of Newton’s law “a body in motion at a constant velocity will remain in motion in a straight line unless acted upon by an outside force.” kicked in.  I finished four pieces, including one entirely new piece in 5 days.  And I’ve started another large piece.  It feels so good to be working again.  I’m so happy right now.

Still Life: Apple and Pears 24" x 20"

2 Comments

Filed under nature inspired, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Newton’s Law

  1. deb

    Ahha! That first law explains alot…like, get off to a slow start in the morning and the whole day is slow paced, unproductive. Your farm stand apple and pears look delicious, congratulations on your finishes.

  2. Kathie,

    I’m lovin’ your fresh new work! I, too, have fallen prey to each of Newton’s Laws from time to time — as you well know! 🙂 I am operating under Part II right now myself, and I agree — it feels *so* good!

Leave a Reply

