Goldfinch Buffet

Goldfinch Buffet 12" x 12"

Winter generally finds me combing through photos taken the previous summer.  Looking for some fun colors to work with I came across this photo of thistles and decided it would be a good image for my donation to the SAQA Benefit Auction.   This year’s Auction will begin on Monday, September 20th at 2:00 Eastern.

There’s no goldfinch in this but somewhere in a shoebox there’s a old photo much like this but with birds.  I took it 21 years ago with my old SLR camera.  I remember the year because I had just received  a tripod for my birthday and I spent the next month lugging it around the yard trying to take nature shots.

I think these thistle deserve a larger canvas, and I actually have one ready,  but first I need to finish up two other pieces.

Leave a comment

Filed under nature inspired, SAQA, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

