Lemonade

I’m not really making lemonade in December.  I’m more likely to make hot chocolate.  I am making coil baskets.  This one has handlea.  But the most interesting part (for me) is that I made this from the ugliest fabric I have ever seen.

I did not purchase this ugly fabric.  It was part of a large bag of books, fabrics, notions and and such that I won for a Best of Show in Wearable Art at the Chicago International Quilt Festival several years ago.  Most of the items in the bag were pretty nice but the fabric, donated by various manufacturers,  was all ugly.  Some got used as test muslin for garments.  Some became quilt backs.

This was the last of it.  I had used a chunk of it to back a quilt.  The front was pieced from my hand-dyed fabric and I had appliqued walking thistle plants on it.  The idea was neat, the top looked great.  Somehow that all died when I tried to stitch it.  Its rolled up and I don’t know if I will ever finish it.  I blamed the ugly fabric.

The basket was fun to make and I remembered the old saying “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”

I wonder what other ugly fabric I have?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, Vessels

4 responses to “Lemonade

  1. loved your post and the basket!

  2. deb

    That’s a beautiful basket, Kathie!

  3. Pingback: Tablerunners « 45 Degrees North

  4. Pingback: Tablerunners « 45 Degrees North

Leave a Reply

