Sewing just for the FUN of it

runner

Inspired by a photo in the latest issue of “Stitch”  I decided to make a table runner in autumn colors.  I generally followed the directions in the magazine but made it a bit longer (about 44″ – the width of the fusible fleece).   I sewed the strips to the non-fusible side of the fleece  in the manner of string-piecing.    Rather than using my good batik for the back I sewed a batik border to another fabric, fused it to the back & brought the border around to the front to form the binding.

The article showed a coordinating coil basket and I remembers that I had purchased some coil pot cording from Helen Deighan at the Chicago IQA a few years ago.  Its smaller and more rigid than the clothesline that some coil bowls/baskets are made from.  I didn’t have directions but I somehow remembered Helen’s description and gave it try. What fun!

bowl

Today I received a call from the arts council asking me if I was going to participate in the holiday market.  Since I have nothing to sell I declined but told them I would probably participate next year.  And I plan on participating in the Leland Fiber Fest next year as well.   As some of my other commitments wind down I want to schedule some time for fun sewing and building up an inventory of runners, bowls, covered journals, small evening bags, etc.   The added bonus is that I can use that portion of my stash that just doesn’t fit my current work but is lovely and fun to handle.

3 Comments

Filed under Table Art, Uncategorized, Vessels

3 responses to “Sewing just for the FUN of it

  1. deb

    They are lovely! I understand that sometimes we need is to just sit at the machine and SEW away.

  2. sherry boram

    I haven’t visited your blog forever and see that I’ve missed some beautiful work. Your writing about the pieces makes them even better…you capture Northern Michigan so beautifully, Kathie.

  3. Pingback: Tablerunners « 45 Degrees North

Leave a Reply

