Free Piecing

background for ladyslippers

Here’s the border added to the MQAI piece.  The overall piece is 24 x 20 and the blocks are 4″.  I quilted the entire background before appliqueing the ladyslippers.

I took a break from the commission and started my first piece for the Fiber Artists Coalition exhibition based on the poem “Three Ways of Looking at a Blackbird” by Wallace Stevens.  I chose:

XIII

It was evening all afternoon

It was snowing

And it was going to snow.

The blackbird sat

In the cedar-limbs.

Blackbird 13

Right now it is 26″ square and I am trying to decide if it needs a border or if I should just bind it in matching fabric.  And I need to think about the stitching so it will sit on the design wall while I return to working on the commission.

This is defiantly part of the 45 Degrees North series.  It could be the view outside my window most any day from late November until some time in April.  Funny how I can work on winter scenes only in the summer.

1 Comment

Filed under free-piecing, nature inspired, Uncategorized

One response to “Free Piecing

  1. Pingback: Cardinal progress « Cut, Stitch, Paste

Leave a Reply

