A Tale of Three Pieces

After I finished the Marsh Marigolds I thought it would be fun to continue on with the wildflower theme.  Since working with yellow was so uplifting I chose Ladyslippers.  I enlarged my drawing and printed out a full size cartoon.

Ladyslipper drawing

Ladyslipper drawing

Knowing where the flowers and leaves would conceal all or most of the background helped me eliminate  the piecing behind these areas.  I selected a palette of gray with violet overtones and the primary color.

background pieced and quilted

I thought it would provide good contrast with the green and yellow of the flowers.

DSCN0138

But it did not.  The desaturated photo shows there is no value contrast (!)

fabric audition

I needed darker and/or lighter values for my subject.  I decided to try a selection of darker greens for the leaves knowing full well that yellow was going to be a problem.  I free pieced a selection of greens with the intention of cutting the assemblies into the leaf shapes.

DSCN0131

The contrast was OK but after I made several assemblies and pinned them against the background I saw something different, an overhead view of parks or gardens in an urban location.  That’s a new piece.

I didn’t want to applique these over the quilted background.  I decided to piece them with the neutral urban colors and go use lighter grays and beige fabrics.  I have been auditioning possible layouts:

DSCN0136

DSCN0130

Meanwhile, I decided that dark green and red would work best on midtone grays of the quilted background.  And that a more delicate flower would suit the composition.  So I changed the focus to another favorite wildflower, the cardinal flower, which blooms right down by the lake.

DSCN0137

So now I have:

1.  A Ladyslipper compostion on paper.

2. Pieces that hopefully will become “Urban Parks” or something like that.

3. A background and kind of a plan for Cardinal Flowers.

None of the above will be finished quickly since I have some travel plans coming up. But it will be nice to come back  to all three of these with fresh eyes.

2 Comments

Filed under abstract, free-piecing, nature inspired

2 responses to “A Tale of Three Pieces

  1. clairan

    It’s very interesting to watch your process. I look forward to seeing these pieces complete. have a good trip!

  2. deb

    Yes, Kathie, I loved observing your thought processes…and learned from them. These projects hold much promise. Have a wonderful trip!

Leave a Reply

