Progress on Judy’s Challenge

I decided to stop after 6 units. I was having so much fun making them but didn’t want this piece to be too large.  I still have all kinds of components on hand in case I decide to make a companion piece.

Now the layout.  That’s the hardest part.  I was pretty sure that just joining all the units would be busier than I would like but I tried a few combinations and photographed them:

Yes, too much energy.   So I separated them a bit on a piece of neutral batik:

And now I am faced with the dilemma: do I want a horizontal or vertical orientation.  I like the background fabric but its bland.   Now I need to add back some energy.  One of the prints used in the free-piecing caught my eye because of the circles:

So I cut up blocks of it and spent a good deal of time rearranging them.  But I am still not satisfied.

I think the blocks might be too big.  And too regular. Maybe I need strips?  Time to leave it on the design wall and revisit it in a day or two.  In the meantime I am wide open to suggestions.

4 Comments

Filed under abstract, free-piecing

4 responses to “Progress on Judy’s Challenge

  1. Hmmm…I understand exactly what you are going through. Slow Design – the hardest part of the whole process, but the one that teaches you the most. WHAT IF you tried these blocks in the third arrangement on a different background? I think it might be the background that is the problem, rather than the units. Audition backgrounds of different colors – this neutral is blah, I agree – and adding all the circles just takes attention away from the blocks and I don’t know where to look first.

    Maybe, since the blocks are mostly cool colors, you could try something warm on the background. Khaki? Warm beige? Pale orange(aka peach?)
    I don’t know, but try playing around till it sings.

    Been there/done that. ARGH. It’s WORK!

    • kathiebriggs

      Thanks, Rayna, for the reminder and the suggestions. Yep, slow design. I will try some other colors. Today isn’t a studio day but I will try again Saturday.

  2. marginmirror

    I like the playing around with the background, agreeing with Rayna that the all-neutral is too bland, but one must avoid distraction of too much in the background. I like the idea of black — grey, actually — like a subtle echo. As for orientation, you could do what Jean Judd does and use corner triangles on the back, in all four corners, so the piece can be hung either vertically or horizontally. Just a thought…

    Hugs!

    • kathiebriggs

      Thanks Marge, I’ll try charcoal as well as the peach Rayna suggested. Good idea to finish it so that it can be hung either way.

Leave a Reply

