Judy’s Challenge

Judy’s Challenge Fabric

Way back last March I signed on for Karen Musgrave’s new challenge.  The fabric for the challenge came from a stash left behind by her friend Judy.  You can read about it in Karen’s own words.

The rules were simple:

1. Have fun!
2. The quilt must be free-form/free spirited.
3. The challenge fabric must be used and visible in the quilt.
4. You are encouraged to share your process and finished quilt on your blog.
5. You will need to share how you stretched yourself and moved out of your comfort zone.
6. Deadline to finish is May 1. (Please send me a photo so I can post them all together.)
7. Have fun!

I thought I’d get started quickly but it didn’t happen.  We had the deal with all the dead trees that had to come down.  Then I got a bad cold.  Then I had to go out of town.  Then I came back to a couple tight deadlines.  Judy’s fabric stayed on my design board while I tried to figure out what to do.

Yesterday was my Mother’s birthday and also coincidentally the deadline which I had now missed.  Mother’s been gone for 25 years.  Breast cancer.  So  even though I have missed  the deadline (sorry Karen) I decided to shove everything else aside and start Judy’s challenge.  I’ve finished 4 units (blocks?)

I’m working in a color palette that is very different from what I have done. I’ve been a hand-dye and batik girl for a long time but  I am using all kinds of fat quarters of prints that are probably as old as the challenge fabric .  I know I moved here with them 1 1 years ago.  And they are a cool contrast to the batiks.

I don’t have a plan.  I have no idea where I am going. That’s fun and exciting.  And I promise to work on nothing else until this piece is together.

And my studio is a happy and hopeless mess.

Hope Karen will forgive me.  If you want to see some neat quilts here’s the link to the quilts from Karen’s 1950s Fabric Challenge.

6 Comments

Filed under free-piecing

6 responses to “Judy’s Challenge

  1. Can I be you? These look beautiful – I thought they were a series of 12x12s, actually. Sigh…I am still not done with challenge #1. Probably moot at this point.

  2. Kathy, I love what you’re doing! Can’t wait to see more. Hugs, Karen

  3. Kathie, so funny! I have a ‘quillow’ from this same fabric my daughter made me!! I recognized it right away! what a hoot! & congrats on Machine Quilting magazine!!!! You go girl!!!

Leave a Reply

